Cracking the Code: A Series

Hi everyone! In the spirit of introductions, I am going to start off my blog with a series of exploratory posts, meant to work through how you can approach a work of art. On this blog, I am adopting an approach that looks at three major characteristics of a work of art: form, content, and context, which I have outlined on my page “Cracking the Code.” Each post will focus on a different element and show how useful it can be to understanding a particular work…or I may integrate all three to show you how they create a bigger story behind each piece. This is as much a learning experience for me as for you, so feel free to comment and critique!

Update: Here is the series as it stands… I hope to add to this theme over time.

1. Form:

2. Content:

3. Context:

Samuel van Hoogstraten, View of a Corridor, 1658

One thought on “Cracking the Code: A Series

Leave a Reply

